Crafting Through Chaos

One would think I would have had a ton of time to make all the things in this time of lock-down. I don’t feel like I’ve done much more than any other year. With the last few weeks of the year, I’ve decided to think about what else can I do or finish off. It’s not much.

I was laid off from my job in May 2019. According to my Kindle Reads Insights, I read 52 books in 2019. As of last night, I’ve only read 42 for 2020! I need to catch up. I’ll be cramming in about 3 books a week to beat my last years total. I did manage to finally read all the Harry Potter books. My youngest son and I are only halfway though book 3. We read at bedtime, so it’s been slow going. He prefers the movies and we have the last 2 to watch. He doesn’t know it but I bought the DVDs for Christmas.

Since I was on unemployment, I didn’t really do a whole lot of freelance and so I didn’t make a ton of money. This year I had hoped to up that amount however when everything shut down, so did a lot of my income stream with clients. I’ve had to get creative. So far, I’ve made just about the same. My UC claim ended in May and then I had to reapply. It’s been six months and I have yet to hear whether this year’s claim is approved or not. Can you imagine for the last 24 weeks I’ve filed and have gotten NOTHING. I’ve called so many times and yet, I keep getting “it’ll be soon you’ll hear something.” But nope. I’m grateful that I wasn’t under a lot of financial pressure and that my husband works full-time and can support our family, however, I feel for the people who might be in my same position of limbo. That’s a long time to be without income.

As for crafting, did I mention I got a Silhouette Cameo 4 last year for Christmas? Actually, my husband got me a Cricut Expressions and when I tried out the software, I wasn’t impressed and returned it for the Silhouette, which I am used to using. I had so many issues with using the Cameo 4 and wished I had kept my original instead of giving it to my sister. I’ve not done a lot with it other cut some basic heat transfer vinyl and a few decals. I also experimented with stickers and shrinky dink. I thought I would do a lot more with it yet with my husband taking up the office most of the day time, I can’t really cut in the room because he is on phone call meetings it seems like ALL-DAY!

I have managed to increase my yarn and fiber stash. Went to an estate sale and got some stuff. People have given me lots of stuff. I subscribed to KnitCrate awhile back and the yarn is just lovely! I don’t know what to make with it. I don’t really like the pattern suggestions because I don’t wear shawls really or socks. I just like to nuzzle the yarn. I have started a cowl and hope to finish it before it gets too cold. The yarn is sooooo soft. More on that later.

Have you seen the accessory of the year yet? The Pocket Shawl?? I remember why I don’t like making blankets. These only take half the time but I could have make 10 hats in the time it takes me to make one of these. I’ve made 5 so far. After the next two, I’m finished. Other people can make these. I used two different patterns, one paid by KnotYourselfOut on etsy and one generously shared by a lady in one of my crochet facebook groups, her name is Laurie.

The free “pattern” was 6 rows of half-double crochet in the back loop for 177 stitches with a K hook, 24 rows of crossed-double crochet, end with 6 rows of half-double crochet in the back loop. For the pocket, chain 31 and 12 rows of half-double crochet in the back loop, 4 rows of crossed-double crochet. It’s about 8″-9″ square and then I mattress-stitched it on. Add fringe at the bottom. the whole thing measures about 62″ x 18″ not counting the fringe. It takes about 1000 yds of a worsted weight yarn.

I’ve had some other fun projects that I’ll post on later. This one has been long enough. I hope everyone is hanging in there. This last month we’ve seen a surge in our area of COVID infections, 3 people we know personally and had been in presence of 2 directly. We are now under quarantining again. I hope it’s not a long winter 😦

Leave a comment