A Sampling of samples

A few months ago I signed up the soap company to a box sample event for next month with the theme of Bubble Bash. I knew I was going to make some soap and needed something else to pack in so I made some lovely bath salts. Two new soaps for the season are Fresh Day, a bergamot, lavender, patchouli and litsea cubeba blend colored with tumeric and Herb Garden scented with Lavender, Basil, Peppermint and Rosemary colored with comfrey leaf and a layer of calendula petals that were steeped in the olive oil before being mixed into the soap. Ohhhh MY! They smell just divine. We’re actually almost sold out of the soap now! The bath salts are a blend of lavandin and ylang ylang, which is a very powdery floral scent…romantic, I suppose.  

ImageImageImageImage

I tucked the soap and salts in a muslin bag with a mini brochure and a teeny tag on the outside. Adorable. 

Next up is making more soap! Beegoaty and Orange Cremescicle…customer and family favorites. It’s a busy time for me to gear up for craft shows and still keep up with the regular orders. I also just submitted a small variety pack to a local naturals store and I’m very excited to hear about that. There is one soap maker in the area who is in most of the shops around here since she’s been making soap for the last 15 or more 20 years and one other lady who I’ve been to shows and seen her as well. Luckily, we don’t just sell soap. Our lotion is in high demand as well. I’m still working on branching out to other stores and networking. 

On another note, I’ve been keeping really busy aside from crafting and business stuff. One of my dear friends was admitted to the hospital last night with pneumonia which is a complication from his cancer treatments. At moments, I’m beside myself and then other times I can just keep trucking on. Last night we were in the ER for 4.5 hours and while he slept most of the time, I thought to myself that I could have brought knitting or something constructive than staring at him or playing Candy Crush. It isn’t like me not to have some kind of project with me and now with this going on, I’ll be switching my purse to something that can hold a small WIP so that I can sit with him.

I hope everyone is having a lovely week. Last night, my day was brightened because I received a gift in a swap I participated in for Easter. I’m a purple fanatic and got loads of nice stuffImage

Cute stuff, ya? 

2 thoughts on “A Sampling of samples

Leave a Reply

