Craft Showing

This year has been a little slow on the soap sales. A couple major shows were missed because of family obligations and I’ve been trying to figure out how to get more show time in. A couple have been a let down for business. At one show I didn’t sell a single bar of soap yet sold lots of lotions and lip balms. How’s that for a soap company!

That being said, that means production is down also. Last year’s tally had me making soap every other weekend. Soap was plentiful as were sales. Yet this year, we’ve hit a major lull. Our regulars do keep buying soap and I keep up on the popular blends. I come out with a couple new scents for the seasons. There was an over haul on the branding side and revamping of the product sizing and pricing. Soap is still slow selling. Business is waning for all kinds of reasons.

Today’s show had many direct sales vendors. There were about 18 of us and 4 of the vendor spots were handmade/crafted things. Next to my natural handmade soapstuff was a “natural” direct sales personal care line. I didn’t have much hope there. People love that spa stuff. I read the ingredients and without going into a tirade, suffice it to say that in no way do I believe that Ammonium Lauryl Sulfate and Ammonium Laureth Sulfate will ever be “natural” to me. I like my skin and choose to treat it as good as I can with out junking it up with a chemical assault. Moving on…

I’m just bummed that soap isn’t selling. I know that handmade natural soap is not a necessity in people’s lives like it is for ours. I just need to branch out more I suppose.

That being said (shameless plug) find our soap on facebook: http://www.facebook.com/SideDoorSoaps and to peruse the soap to order online: http://www.SideDoorSoaps.com

I’m trying to grow my business. 😀 Thanks for listening

4 thoughts on “Craft Showing

  1. Jen says:

    I’m hoping for a boost in sales for you very soon! I’ve had a major lull myself this year. Hopefully it will pick up all around at least for the holidays!
    Jen
    LPCrochet.com

Leave a Reply

